Types of Cooking Oil

There are different types of cooking oil. However, when you are choosing these oils, you need to ensure that you only choose the healthier oils and particularly the liquid cooking oil. Cooking oils that are rich in monounsaturated fats are considered healthy as they could help you cut down on the level of cholesterol in your blood. It also deserves mention that classification of cooking oil is based on the level of fat saturation in it or the raw material from which the oil is made. There are those cooking oil categories that are extracted from plants while others are extracted from seeds or nuts. Others are simply categorized as healthy or unhealthy and each of these categories serves a specific function.
The following is a list of the recommended plant based cooking oil that is considered healthy for use by nearly everybody unless your doctor advises you otherwise or you have some allergic reactions:
Olive oil

  • Peanut oil
  • Corn oil
  • Olive oil
  • Sunflower oil
  • Soybean oil
  • Avocado oil
  • Canola oil
  • Flaxseed oil

Nut and seed based cooking oils include: hazelnut oil

  • Sesame oil
  • Walnut oil
  • Grapeseed oil
  • Sunflower oil
  • Peanut oil
  • Almond oil
  • Hazelnut oil

Walnut oil

This entry was posted in Types of Cooking Oil. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.